Tags

I enjoying following fellow photographers on their 365 journey. The other day, one posted a comment on another’s image. His comment statement that the image and thought behind it reminded him of a poem by William Blake, Auguries of Innocence.  I decided to look up the poem online. The first few lines caught my attention.

To see a world in a grain of sand
And a heaven in a wild flower,
Hold infinity in the palm of your hand
And eternity in an hour.

That’s how I have been feeling lately as I engage in this project. I was sharing these sentiments with my boss today. In the past, I would really enjoy the trees and flowers in full bloom during the spring and summer. Then during the fall and winter, I would walk past the dry almost barren landscape. Those seasons brought a different feel and look. One we almost seem to walk by on our way to the next beautiful season.

But now, I stop and photograph this landscape and find that I love it.  There is so much beauty in all that is around us, whether it be in full bloom or the stems left waiting for the return of their flowers. Today I focused on a group of branches that held two last berries on them. They are withered and ready to fall off, waiting as long as they can before letting go.

Holding On

