It’s interesting looking back at these photos a while later. I still remember exactly what I was doing when I took the photo. This day will stick in my mind always.  I was on my way home from work in the late afternoon. This shot was taken in August. Since I didn’t have to pick up the kids that day from school, I went home a different way than I normally do.  A few minutes after I passed this particular spot on the freeway that I would normally be one, having taken service streets instead, I hear sirens in the background.  Eventually, they passed by me as I was getting ready to turn onto our street.

When I got home I heard helicopters in the sky. I didn’t think much about it at first but then I got a little worried when my husband wasn’t home at his regular time. He called to let me know he was stuck on the freeway and it wasn’t moving. I walked out to the balcony and found three helicopters in the sky. Something bad must have happened.

Later we found out about the accident. It happened right before the exit I always take, the same exit I was passing around the time the accident happened, I just happened to be on the streets instead. The car that was hit was occupied by a mom and her little three year old girl. The car was hit so hard and in just the right spot that it caught on fire. The mom was able to get out, but they were not able to get her daughter out in time, the car seat being really hard to unbuckle with all the flames. It is a heartbreaking story. I have often feared being in an accident and not being able to get those car seat belts off.

My heart goes out to the family and their loss.